The 2019 Namibian Theatre and Film Awards In A Nutshell

The most important event in Namibia’s film and theatre industry took place on 5 October at the National Theatre of Namibia’s Auditorium in Windhoek.

The 5th instalment of the biannual Namibian Theatre and Film Awards (NTFA) themed ‘Creating Tomorrow Today’, hosted by the Namibia Film Commission and the National Theatre of Namibia, saw a great mix of new and old film and theatre industry players recognised for their craftsmanship and outstanding talent.

Winners from 14 film and 11 theatre categories were revealed. The biggest winners of the night from the theatre are Senga Brockerhoff who scooped 4 awards for her musical, Every Woman and Lloyd Wininiwho won 2 awards for his play, The Nuthouse.

On the film front, there was a three-way tie as The White Line, Baxu and the Giants and Hairareb took home the biggest awards of the night.

The awards also saw its youngest winner 10-year-old Camilla Jo-Ann Daries winning the Best Female Actor award in film for her outstanding performance in Baxu and the Giants, while Tapiwa Makaza won the Best Student Film award, a new addition to the categories.

Leleti K
South African actress, Leleti Khumalo was the Guest of Honour at the 2019 Namibian Theatre and Film Awards. (Image: Opas Onucheyo)

Three-lifetime achievement awards were bestowed to !Nxau #Toma from the world-renowned The God’s Must Be Crazy, Banana Shekupe and Hans Struppie Reinhardt as well as a special recognition award to Brian Ford.

Two corporate companies, Olthaver & List and B2Gold Namibia were recognised for their unwavering support towards the creative arts, also a new category to the NTFA.